Loko leads Mendi to playoffs

Normal, Sports

The National, Tuesday 26th March 2013

 KUMULS powerhouse second-rower David Loko’s team have booked the first seat for the 2013 Coca-Cola Ipatas Cup grand final.

The premier of the 2012 competition, the Mendi Wantok Trading Offcuts have again made it to the grand final.

Loko’s, pictured, Offcuts were among 12 teams who took part in the Western end knockouts over the weekend at Wapenamanda Primary School oval, in Enga.

The teams that took part were Sineyongo Brothers, TNA Angras, Krim Brothers (Simbu), Kuma Cowboys, Kondo East (Jiwaka) Kondia Brothers, Togoba Magani (WHP), Waps Snax Tigers, Lupa Royals, Wabag Central Knights

(Enga), Mendi Butterflies and Offcuts (SHP).

They played on Saturday and the six teams who triumphed were Butterflies, Offcuts, Knights, Magani, Angras and Sineyongo Brothers. 

The losers returned home on Sunday morning.

The six winning teams played again on Sunday and three teams became winners, with Offcuts booking the first place  for the grand final with the highest winning percentage, while two lowest percentage winners – Togoba Magani and Wabag Central Knights – will be play this Sunday at Johnson Siki Oval, in Wabag, and the winner will join Offcuts for the grand final.

The eight teams for the Eastern End knockouts are preparing well in their respective areas for their games in Lae this weekend.

Due to the three big provinces of Morobe, Madang and Eastern Highlands taking part in the Northern Challenge, which was the biggest competition in the CCIC Challenge; the competition executives have included the runners-up for pools A and pool B.

The teams are Paga Panthers (Pom), Kokopo Muruks (ENB), Yondu Warriors, SK Titans (EHP), Goldruz Morobe Chiefs, Kune Trading Kamkumung Crushers, Beyond Dogs and Armsec Bulolo Miners (Lae).

The first game will be played on Saturday when the Dogs take on the Titans. 

The Chiefs will host the Panthers, Miners will take on the Warriors and Crushers will play Muruks.

On Sunday, the winner of the first game will take the winner of the third game, while the second game winner will play the fourth game winner. 

The two winners will then meet the other two winners from the Western end for the grand final.

Enga Governor and competition patron Peter Ipatas officially announced Johnson Siki Oval in Wabag as the venue for the grand final on April 6-7.