Maroons pick four debutants


NEW Queensland Coach Billy Slater has included four debutants as part of his side for the Ampol State of Origin series opener which will be played at Accor Stadium, Sydney, next Wednesday night.
North Queensland forwards Reuben Cotter and Jeremiah Nanai have both been rewarded for their strong start to the year with selection in the side, while Broncos winger Selwyn Cobbo is also set to make his Origin debut after just 19 NRL games.
Cobbo will be joined on debut by Broncos forward Patrick Carrigan with fellow Brisbane teammate Thomas Flegler also included among the reserves.
After missing last year’s series with injury, Roosters prop Lindsay Collins returns to the side and is named on the bench. Titans captain Tino Fa’asuamaleaui moves to prop to replace Christian Welch, who is out with a season-ending achilles injury.
Following his strong performance at hooker in Game Three last year, Ben Hunt has again been named to start at hooker with Harry Grant listed on the bench.
Cowboys trio Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow, Murray Taulagi and Thomas Dearden have all been named among the reserves as the Maroons look to win back the Origin shield following last year’s 1-2 series defeat.
Queensland: Kalyn Ponga (Knights), Selwyn Cobbo (Broncos), Valentine Holmes (Cowboys), Dane Gagai (Knights), Xavier Coates (Storm), Cameron Munster (Storm), captain Daly Cherry-Evans (Sea Eagles), Tino Fa’asuamaleaui (Titans), Ben Hunt (Dragons), Josh Papalii (Raiders), Kurt Capewell (Broncos), Felise Kaufusi (Storm), Reuben Cotter (Cowboys), Harry Grant (Storm), Lindsay Collins (Roosters), Patrick Carrigan (Broncos), Jeremiah Nanai (Cowboys), Thomas Dearden (Cowboys), Jai Arrow (Rabbitohs), Thomas Flegler (Broncos), Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow (Cowboys), Murray Taulagi (Cowboys).