Marum resets pack

The National,Friday July 1st, 2016

PAPUA New Guinea Hunters coach Michael Marum has been forced to reshuffle his side for Sunday’s Intrust Super Cup Round 17 rugby league clash against the Tweed Heads Seagulls.
Winger William Aquila and utility Gahuna Silas were dropped from the travelling party because their visas were not ready while prop Enock Maki was named as 18th man.
Maki lost his starting spot to Timothy Lomai, who shifts from lock in his return from a broken hand.
Rugby convert Butler Morris is set to play his second game for the Hunters after being named on the wing replacing Aquila.
It is unlikely Maki will play after picking up a sternum injury two weeks ago against Wynnum Manly.
Marum said the burly Western Highlander would be used only as a last resort but would have treatment in Brisbane tomorrow.
The other changes to the side sees Ishmael Balkawa come in at lock and Brandy Peter, who was named on the bench after missing last week due to personal reasons, pull out.
Marum said Aquila and Silas would revert to their Digicel Cup sides for the weekend but he was confident they would be available for selection next round with their visas sorted during the week.
The Hunters leave early morning and will be based in Brisbane for the Q-Cup round. Marum said the side would be involved in several promotional activities while in the Queensland capital.
They meet with NRL representative David Solomona, who will talk about violence in sport and other related issues and meet with the PNG community while Marum will meet with young PNG players who have represented the state. They will also have one training session in Beenleigh, 35km southeast of Brisbane.
The Hunters then travel by bus to Tweed Heads, New South Wales, on Sunday morning for their 2pm game at Piggabeen Sports Oval.
Hunters:  1. Bland Abavu 17. Butler Morris 3. Justin Olam 4. Thompson Teteh 5. Adex Wera 6. Ase Boas 7. Watson Boas 13. Timothy Lomai 9. Wartovo Puara Jr 10. Esau Siune 11. Edward Goma 12. Adam Korave (C) 20. Ishmael Balkawa; Reserves: 14. Warren Glare 15. Atte Bina Wabo 16. Benjamin Hetra 17. Tuvi Lepan 8. Enock Maki.