McGuire, Gillett set to play


BRISBANE Broncos coach Wayne Bennett is expected to set foot in Port Moresby today ahead of Saturday’s pre-season trial against the SP PNG Hunters.
However, the 68-year-old has handed his assistant Jason Demetriou the coaching duties.
Demetriou, who has held roles as assistant coach at the North Queensland Cowboys and St George Illawarra Dragons from 2015 to 2016 joined the Broncos last year.
Injury-enforced omissions from the 20-man playing squad are fullback and captain Darius Boyd, hooker Andrew McCullough and centre Jack Bird — all of whom will be part of the contingent that arrive today.
They have been replaced by Jamayne Isaako, Tood Murphy and Tom Opacic.
The Broncos trial team for Saturday still features a close to full-strength side with a strong pack led by veteran Sam Thaiday and features Queensland Origin stars Josh McGuire and Matt Gillett as well as former New Zealand forward Alex Glenn, who will captain the side.
The bench has an ominous look with usual starters Korbin Simms, Anthony Milford and Corey Oates backed by Tongan internationals Tevita Pangai Jr and Joe Ofahengaue.
The backline has goal-kicking Kiwi Jordan Kahu and dangerman James Roberts feature in the three-quarters. The rest of the backline has players familiar with the Hunters having played in the Queensland Cup.
Fullback Isaako (Souths Logan Magpies), winger Jonus Pearson (Redcliffe Dolphins), centre Opacic (Redcliffe Dolphins) and halfback Sam Scarlett (Souths Logan Magpies) will suit up against familiar foes.
The match will be the Broncos final trial before the NRL season kicks off on March 9.
With the trial following NRL guidelines, a dual-referee system will be used and depending on the conditions, organisers have the option of playing the fixture over 20-minute quarters while there will be an unlimited interchange.
Broncos: 1. Jamayne Isaako, 2. Jonus Pearson, 3. James Roberts, 4. Tom Opacic, 5. Jordan Kahu, 6. Sam Scarlett, 7. Kodi Nikorima, 8. Matt Lodge, 9. Todd Murphy, 10. Sam Thaiday, 11. Alex Glenn (c), 12. Matt Gillett, 13. Josh McGuire; Reserves: 14. Anthony Milford, 15. Joe Ofahengaue, 16. Korbin Sims, 17. Tevita Pangai, 18. Jake Turpin, 19. Corey Oates, 20. Jaydn Su’A.

Leave a Reply