Media day awards nominations open

National, Normal

THE annual Divine Word University/Unesco Communication Arts Awards is inviting journalists, media and other organisations to submit nominations for awards for the Media Freedom Day celebrations on April 30.
The awards are presented annually in recognition of good journalism practices with emphasis on the wider area of communication and development and how journalists, media and civil society organisations report issues of development.
The award is open to individuals and organisations, whether they are, or were at the time of publication, working in the print media, radio, television or some other medium, at the judges discretion.
The competition is also open to organisations and individuals involved in information-related activities such as NGOs and community groups.
This year, the judges will be looking for a meticulously written news report, feature, or other writing (special publications, series of articles), or a well produced audio/visual programme that focuses on development issues and has had a significant impact on a community or the country.
The judges will acknowledge quality reporting and writing, attention to detail, accuracy, variety of sources, originality of coverage, creativity, new information and insights into development issues in PNG.
Individuals and organisations are invited to submit applications for the awards, consisting of either a portfolio of their work on a single topic or a single article by April 25.
Address all nominations to Br Michael McManus on fax: 8522812, email: [email protected]  or to the Communication Arts Department, PO Box 483, Madang.
Previous winners include the National Film Institute – 2009, Oseah Philemon – 2008, Matilda Gaveva (NBC) – 2007, Kevin Marai (Karai) and AT Projects – 2006, Scott Waide (EMTV ) and Jada Wilson (Word Publishing) – 2005, Roger Hau’ofa (FM100) – 2004, Jacob Kaka (NBC Enga) and Susuve Loumaea (Post- Courier) – 2003,  Veronica Hatutasi (Word Publishing) – 2002, the late Robyn Sela (Post-Courier) – 2001 and John Eggins (EMTV) and Ruth Waram(Post-Courier) in 1999.