Members of boundaries board sworn-in

Lae News, Normal


EIGHT members of the newly-formed Morobe provincial boundaries review committee were sworn in at the Melanesian Hotel in Lae yesterday.
The committee comprises Benson Suwang as chairman, Menyamya MP Benjamin Philip as deputy, and members Dollie Kumgie, Jonathon Suvi, Andrew Holongke, Tarosi Angori, Yalambing Daumbin and Arenao Seseguo.
The committee was approved during a resolution of the provincial executive meeting last August and will be tasked to investigate and submit recommendations for changes to the boundaries of the nine electorates and 33 local-level governments in the province.
“If an electorate is too big, then it may have to be divided or if an electorate is too small, it would have to be linked to ensure equal distribution of services reaching people,” Mr Suwang said.
“Depending on these recommendations, a new local level government can be developed or a ward can be abolished,” he said.
Mr Suwang said consideration of traditional boundaries was also important and awareness would be carried out to prevent land disputes among people.
He said the province had a huge land mass and it would take up to two years to submit a report to the National Boundaries Commission before changes of boundaries could be made.
Governor Luther Wenge, who witnessed the ceremony, said he had confidence in the new committee.
He said as soon as their budget was incorporated into the provincial budget, their task would begin.