Morobe has only regional seat to declare

National, Normal

The National, Thursday July 26th, 2012

ELECTION 2012 in Morobe is approaching the end with only a declaration for the regional seat remaining.
The nine open seats of Lae, Markham, Nawaeb, Bulolo, Menyamya, Tewai-Siassi, Kabwum, Huon Gulf and Finschaffen have been declared and the elected MPs are already in various camps involved in the horse-trading to form the next government.
In the remaining seat in Morobe, Governor Luther Wenge is still in the lead with 59,163 votes after the 10th exclusion.
Nearest challenger, Kasiga Kelly Naru, is narrowing the gap fast with the collection of a huge 1780 votes to take his tally to 57,850.
In third place is Ginson Saonu with 28,217 votes.
Former Morobe education advisor Murika Bihoro, of the Powes Parkop-led Social Democratic Party, was the 11th exclusion late yesterday. Bihoro’s 16,659 votes was still being sorted for distribution to the remaining candidates.
These votes, when tallied, may have an impact on the  leaders in the race.