Morobe rugby elects new executives

Normal, Sports


MOROBE Rugby Union Football (MRUF) Association has elected new executives.
The newly-elected executives are president Jeff Puritau, vice-president Avea Hiarua, secretary Tara Mora and treasurer Ashley Ephraim.
The leaders have vowed to stand together and take the game of rugby in Morobe to the next level.
They all have one aim in mind and that is to see the 15s competition be reduced from nine to six teams and played in three divisions of premier A grade and Colts Under 19.
They hope to see that MRUF become one of the best unions in the country.
The association has produced some of the country’s best players in Asimola brothers, John and Moses, Kevin Vitolo, Aiam Pilakos and Sam Koi, just to name a few.
Puritau urged all existing clubs to stage their annual general meetings (AGMs) to elect their new executives and establish bank accounts for transparency purposes before the proper season starts.
He also said that the clubs should have ownership of the MRUF and zero-tolerance on  alcohol and drugs on-and-off the field.
The MRUF has started its rugby calendar with its pre-season 15s competition and will continue for the next two weeks with Consort Royals, Vikings, Pirates, Greyhound and Defence in pool A and Unitech Reds, Polytech Rams, Harlequins, Telikom and the Rookies in the other pool.