MRDC backs basketball campaign

Normal, Sports

The National, Friday, 27th May 2011

MINERAL Resource Development Corporation (MRDC) extended its support this week with a sponsorship of K5,000 for the PNG national basketball team to the Pacific Games in Noumea, New Caledonia.
The games will be on Aug 27 to Sept 10. The funds will boost their preparations for the games.
PNG are ranked in top five in the Pacific Islands region.
MRDC corporate affairs officer Francis Pundu said MRDC was happy to help the basketball team.
“Since we have a number of players from the resource-rich provinces of Western, Gulf, Southern Highlands, NCD and Central, MRDC believes it was right to come and support the team,” Pundu said.
Head coach Veito Diro said MRDC was the first company to step in support basketball this year.
“We thank you for your timely support that will go a long way to preparing the team for the games. We hope your contribution will help the girls do better in the games,” Diro said.
Meanwhile, the final squad will be announced after the trial match in Port Moresby on June 9-10.
Basketball Federation of PNG vice-president Emma Waiwai said yesterday  the final 12 for men and women, and  three non-travelling reserves will be announced after the trials.
“On the same weekend, we will be hosting a three-on-three competition as a fundraiser,” Waiwai said.
The women’s squad: Karo Lelai, Julie-Anne Diro, Nape Waka, Emily Koivi, Marca Muri, Dianne Hani, Susan Paisoi, Louisa Wallace, Ronnie Pomat, Nellie Jamsop, Jenny Magatu, Mary Elavo, Opa Eko, Emma Daroa, Jenny Maroroa, Veronica Ole, Ethel Narua, Richanda Idau, Nanai Nao, SIma Kariko, Zenna Travertz, Hekoi Trudi, Hennah Kuwimb, Doris Wingi and Grace Wong. The coach is Diro, assisted by Salape Parapa and Maria Coombs (team manager).
The men’s squad: Wally Parapa, Peter Davani, Dia Muri, Apiah Muri, Robert Kave, Joe Elavo, Lawrence Lahari, James Ipassi, Purari Muri, Michael Nao, Richard Arava, SIbona Kala, Soi Ben, Donald Kala, Mika Loko, Xavier Wablasu, Rex Mohu, Eke Kendi, Veuga Taviri, Jonathan Orme, Slieve Mohu, Wayne Aaron and Percy Aaron.
The coach is Ferdinand M Daroya and he will be assisted by Nick Daroa and the team manager is Major Sere Kala.