Mt Hagen dominate AFL team to Fiji meet

Normal, Sports

The National,Wednesday 07th December 2011

MT Hagen dominated the PNG Binatangs squad with eight players for the 2011 Youth AFL Oceania Cup in Fiji from Dec 13-17.
The Binatangs are aiming to retain the title.
However, the inaugural winners Tonga who lifted the title in 2009 are also looking to win back the cup. 
The squad is Michael Macca (Port Moresby), Jason So-ong (Mt Hagen), Junior Frances (Kimbe), Freddy Kalandi (Mt Hagen), Tino Kante (Port Moresby), Christopher Mong (Port Moresby), Jacky Tony (Mt Hagen), Mcqueen Malt (Mt Hagen), Shane Wakala (Mt Hagen), Mctyson Bruce (Mt Hagen), Pryzon Prier (Mt Hagen), Michel Williams (Kavieng), Fitgerald Jee (Kavieng), Dela Luka (Kavieng), Joseph Singura (Kavieng), Brendon Timan (Kavieng), David Topani (Kavieng), Daniel Lloyd (Port Moresby), Jones Melie (Kimbe), Junior Jim (Kimbe), Kennedy Lavatu (Kimbe), Luke Savere (Port Moresby), Harry Junior Kambuou (Port Moresby).
The week will also include an AFL International Combine side that will test the best 50 players’ athletics ability.
It will be a chance to demonstrate whether they can match some of Australia’s best U16s talent and be noticed by AFL coaches and scouts.
AFL stars Fiji’s Nic Naitanui (West Coast Eagles) and Tongan Israel Folau (Greater Western Sydney) will attend the championships.
The AFL’s U15 indigenous squad – the Flying Boomerangs – will also travel to Fiji to compete against Oceania and South Pacific representative teams.
The squad will also engage with the Pacific players in cultural exchanges.
This will be the third time for the Youth AFL Oceania Cup to be held.