New rugby league national championship for women

Normal, Sports

The National, Thursday October 17th, 2013

 THE Papua New Guinea Women’s Rugby Football League Association is staging its first major national championship from December 2-8 in Lae. 

Centres confirmed to take part are Mt Hagen, Minj, Fatima, Baning, Banz, Kundiawa, Goroka, Lae, Rabaul and Port Moresby Suburban. 

There will be one select squad per league in the event. 

Most associations are into their grand final stage and off-season competitions are already beginning in centres like Banz, Baning, Minj and Fatima. 

The Women’s Kumul Rugby League campaign has already been set, with the PNGWRFL working on getting a national women’s Kumul Team in place for their first tour to New Zealand in late March. 

The team will be officially named on December 7 in Lae. 

“Things are prone to happen as the PNGRFL has now recognised PNG Women’s Rugby League and will shortly have the women’s code in their constitution, which is a great achievement in a male-dominated code,” league founder Wendy Michael Kohun said. “Thanks go to the new PNGRFL board of directors.”