No home games for Hela Wigmen

Main Stories, Sports

The National, Wednesday, May 25, 2011

HELA Wigmen will not be hosting any home games at the Lloyd Robson oval in Port Moresby for the rest of the Digicel Cup this season, the PNG NRL board said in a statement yesterday.
It is believed they had failed to fulfill their commitment as set out in the submission forwarded to the board for their inclusion in this year’s Digicel Cup.
However, the Wigmen had denied any knowledge of the statement.
When contacted yesterday, Wigmen head coach Luke Goodwin said they were never approached or informed about the statement.
“I cannot make any comments because no one had approached us to discuss the matter. Until I find out, I will not comment but I was told when a reporter from EMTV called me up about the matter.
“As a matter of fact, no one (PNG NRL board) came to us to discuss this so I cannot comment however I will be able to make comments when I get to the bottom of it,” Goodwin said.
The PNG NRL board decided any home games for Wigmen in Port Moresby will be relocated to the home ground of the franchise they will be playing. 
This will be effective this weekend. The Wigmen play Toyota Enga Mioks and will have make arrangements to travel to Wabag for the match at the Johnson Siki Oval.
Several attempts made to get PNG NRL general manager Hubert Warupi to comment were unsuccessful.
When contacted, PNG NRL chairman Don Fox referred the matter to Warupi.
 However, when pressed why the decision was made without notifying the Wigmen or calling for a round-table discussion, Fox said all matters relating to the PNG NRL were now handled by Warupi.
“I have no comments. I cannot help you. Although I may be the chairman, I am just a board member,” Fox said.
Meanwhile, with the game getting bigger each weekend, Digicel has stepped up its promotion, with the top points sorcerer to be awarded a new Digicel broadband handset.
After game three, Agmark Rabaul Gurias backliner Israel Eliab raked up an impressive 20 points followed by Bingtangor Goroka Lahanis Glen Nami 16 points, Lae Snax Tigers Martin Yanda 14, Hela Wigmen Emmanuel Sarr 14, Jessie Joe Parker 12  and SNS Vipers Kevin Frank 12.