Nominations open for Bougainville by-elections

National, Normal

The National, Friday November 1st, 2013

 NOMINATIONS are open for the long-awaited Bougainville by-elections.

Writs were formally signed and issued yesterday by the Autonomous Bougainville Government (ABG) House of Representatives Speaker, Andrew Miriki.

The writs are for the seats of Peit, Hagogohe, Rau, Kongara and Lule constituencies.

The issuing of writs was witnessed by the Bougainville acting Electoral Commissioner, George Manu and parliament staff.

Miriki said he was satisfied with the report advising him that preparations were on schedule.

He said he was confident the elections would proceed and end without hindrance. The by-election programme dates are: 

  • Issue of writs Oct 30;
  • close of nominations Nov 7;
  • start of polling Dec 4;
  • close of polling Dec 12, and,
  • Return of writs Dec 19.

The vacancy in the five seats occurred when two members – Paul Mitu (Lule in Buin) and Joseph Egilio (Rau) died.

The seat for Peit, on Buka, has been vacant and the seats of Kongara and Hagogohe were left vacant when MPs resigned to contest last year’s general election.