Northern Confederate names squad for zone championships


AFTER a successful selection trial in Madang last week Northern Confederate has named its men’s and Under-20 squads for the national zone championships in Lae this weekend.
The championships will be hosted by Northern Confederate and will take place on Friday and Saturday and 9 at the  Lae Rugby League grounds.
Northern Confederate development officer David Atua told The National last Wednesday that his selectors picked players on merit according to their performance during the selection trial games.
He said the men’s and U-20 Northern sides were a fair selection and not biased as the selectors were very experienced having played league themselves and were part of the technical team.
“The U-20 and seniors are selected on merit for their performances. So this will be the best Northern Zone lineup for both our seniors and juniors with the inclusion of the school boys.
“The Northern Confederate director has his blessing on the selection and the selected players will assemble on Sept 3 for training at Lae Rugby League ground,” Atua said.
U20s: Sadrick Buno (Ramu), Eric Palangat (MDG1), Johnson Warapen (Lae), Ismael Yombane (Lae Sch Boys), Aenon Ruben (Lae), Chris Teko (Lae), Ronney Agibe (Lae Sch Boys), Dideon Denagi (Ramu), Bungo Gena (Lae Sch Boys), Moses Tewambu (Lae), Warex Nick (Lae Sch Boys), Joseph Konz (Lae Sch Boys), Eskay Timothy (MDG1), Twiddy Pewa (MDG1), Manuel Anis (Wewak), Raymond Phil (MDG2), Michael Kumai (Lae), Ben Wamuru (Ramu), Andrew Junior (Lae Sch Boys), Ben Verani (Lae); Tenis Peya-Lae (coach), Philip Lenu-Lae (trainer), Newman Tom-Madang (manager).
Seniors: Paul Nelson (Lae), Steven Wallan (Maprik), Max Kerowa (MDG1), Stanley Mathew, Richard Tuweyo, Patrick Tarutia, Jason Mark, Tracy Terence, Solomon Palani, Solomon Mai, Desmond Allan (Lae), Max Kewa (MDG1), Able Rami (Lae), Dickson Gibson (UNITY), Philjoe Iveke (MDG1), Tonny Alahi (Wewak), Peter Kama (Lae),  Manu Pat (MDG1), Joel James (MDG1) Benzu Lama (Lae); Joe Verani (head coach Northern), Archie Kasek-Lae (coach), Leon Lati-Lae (trainer) and Sam Moses – Madang 1 (manager).

Leave a Reply