Officials get tips on drawing up plans

Normal, Sports

PAPUA New Guinea Rugby Football Union (PNGRFU) are still facing hardships in their development plans for the next five years, and getting things right, before the implementation process starts.
However, the arrival of the Oceania Regional Rugby development manager and the International Rugby Boards (IRB) Lee Smith will give some insight on how these plans and strategies can be achieved.
He is holding a two-day rugby administrators’ workshop which started yesterday at the Ela Beach Hotel.
The workshop will cover actual action plans, achievement strategies for the improvement of the quality of rugby and the ultimately performance and competitiveness on the international stage.
The workshop had attracted representatives from the Goroka Rugby Union, Port Moresby Rugby Union, Morobe Rugby Union and the PNGRFU.
The workshop will end today, but the commitment of the IRB to PNG continues, when referees coach Roger Higgins arrives next Wednesday to conduct a course for match officials. The course is also open to any interested rugby union referees.
Meanwhile, an U19 PNG train-on squad was announced to prepare for this year’s FORU qualifying round of matches.
The squad will prepare for the qualifying tournament in Samoa in August and for next year’s Junior World Trophy.
The squad: Jeremiah Buengen, Loani Henao, Cemeron Wai, Joel Wimbi, Jackson Pato, Nelson Kavanamur, Bare Koi, Terence Pita, Russell Joe, Mikail Sahin, Stanis Bai, Fabuan Jimirere, Martin Toilip, Richard Songake, Leo Miria, Aravapo Guba, Danny Grayson, Gibson Pobaiya, Colin Palang, Jonathan Kuman (Lae).
Port Moresby-based players are Karaut Aimo, Shane Koal, Sarufa Kingsly-Lea, Shaun Kamburi, Stefan Sowei, Moses Guise, Chauka Posalok, Wingti Pena, Taina Koal, Gabriel Biyama, Oliver Yiprukaman, Jonathan Nakuk, Kumalau Auru, Spencer Bonene, Jerry Taumu, Royce Bua, Ashley Waula, Allan Kasalau, Ikupu Tamarua, Richard Karepa, Benjamin Ruimb, Scant Balaguan, and Wesley Rooney.
The other players are Jimmy Pahia and Tsitom Semoso from the Autonomous Region of Bougainville, Joe Tabutabu Jr (Kavieng), Bowie Latu, Jason Billy, Jackie Marcus and Peni Rusiat Jr (Rabaul).