Only three pay

Normal, Sports

The National, Wednesday 19th December, 2012

TELIKOM National Soccer League is likely to defer the start of its 2013 competition with only three teams having paid their affiliation fees in full.
NSL board chairman Isaac Lupari said after the board meeting on Tuesday that Hekari United FC, Welgris FC and Besta FC had met the Dec 14 deadline.
The competition was originally scheduled to kick off in early January but has now been deferred to Feb 2.
Lupari said the board decided that only six teams would take part in the new season given the changes in the OFC calendar.
He said the remaining three spots would comprise clubs that paid their fees on a “first come, first served basis”.
Lupari said a minimum of 50% of the K80,000 must be paid before year ‘send with the balance before the season started in February.
Major sponsor Telikom PNG would host the launching of the first game.
Lupari said with Hekari United taking part in the OFC competition beginning on Mar 30, the NSL season may go into the OFC calendar.

The NSL draw would take into account the condensed OFC draw and give allowances for Hekari, he said.
“The board is determined to reform the NSL competition structure and allow as more teams representing the provinces and while we will run the 2013 season with the limited teams we intend to expand in 2014.”
 Lupari added that notice would be given to intending franchises to prepare for the 2014 season as the country would be preparing to host for the 2015 Pacific Games.
“I again urge potential sponsors and provincial governments to support the franchise teams. The games will take place in Lae and Port Moresby and possibly Mount Hagen pending the availability of a quality football grounds for the TNSL.”
Teams that have expressed interest but have not made any payments include Eastern Stars FC, Port Moresby City FC, Yamaros FC, Bulolo MMJV FC, Morobe Gigira United FC and WNB Tavur FC.

Leave a Reply