Opposition yet to name MPs joining from Govt

Main Stories

THE Opposition is yet to confirm the names of the eight MPs it claims have crossed the floor from the Government benches, saying “it’s too early to predict anything”.
The Opposition MPs held a caucus meeting before Parliament sat yesterday, with all arriving in the House chambers well after proceedings had started for its first session of 2019.
Shadow Justice Minister and Attorney-General Kerenga Kua, the SinaSina-Yongomugl MP, told The National that they arrived late because they were in their caucus meeting.
“This is the first Parliament session for 2019 since the adjournment last year so we were busy tying up the loose ends. So no particular reason for being late,” Kua said.
On their claim that eight Government MPs were joining the Opposition ranks for the planned vote of no-confidence motion sometime after Feb 5, Kua said: “It’s too early to predict anything at this stage.
“Right now we have no announcements to make.”
The Opposition announced last Friday that the eight Government MPs were crossing the floor, and that their names would be revealed before Parliament sat yesterday. Deputy Speaker Jeffrey Komal allowed the session to begin with the traditional prayer, before the Opposition MPs arrived, because there was already a quorum.
It started at 2.30pm with Prime Minister Peter O’Neill and Government MPs in the chamber.
Komal later opened up the floor for questions without notice.

Leave a Reply