Pay up, NSL tells teams

Normal, Sports

The National, Thursday October 17th, 2013


TEAMS wanting to play in the 2013-14 Telikom National Soccer League will have meet all the requirements by close of business tomorrow.

League development manager Chris Brown, pictured, said there were only eight spots available and overwhelming interest from franchises throughout the country.

Initially there were 12 clubs who submitted expressions of interest but three – Welgris, Sepik and Bisini Strikers – withdrew.

All the other franchises except West New Britain Tavur and Besta United  have confirmed their participation in the premier soccer competition and will pay their K45,000 registration fee tomorrow. 

Brown said He­kari United, Gigira Laitepo Morobe, FC Port Moresby, Eastern Star, Oro, Lae and newcomers Admiralty must complete their registration requirements by tomorrow. 

Brown said it would be first come, first serve for teams.

The league will have two teams from Morobe – Gigira Laitepo Morobe and the newly set-up franchise, Lae.

The Manus provincial government-backed Admiralty, will be based out of Port Moresby, taking the number of Port Moresby-based franchises.

The other capital city-based sides are  Hekari United, Eastern Stars, Oro and Port Moresby.

Brown said a managers/franchise owners meeting tomorrow would determine the number of teams in this year’s competition. 

He stressed the meeting was important and all the franchises delegates/managers should attend.