PNG Swimming inducts 34 promising juniors

Normal, Sports

Then National, Wednesday 12th September, 2012

THIRTY-four swimmers have been named in the 2012-13 BSP National Aquatic Excellence squads after improving their personal best times at the TNT National short-course swimming championships in Lae over the weekend.
Samuel Segher earned a spot on the Gold Target squad while promising junior Savannah Tkatchenko leads the Silver Target group which comprises Marcus Blake, Peter Pokawin, Judith Meauri, Nathan Tukana and Collin Akara
In the Gold Intermediate excellence squad James Runnegar maintained his position while members named in the Silver Intermediate squad were Juanita Vava, Nancy Wiseman, Kimberley Ila, Britney Murray, Ruth Bunena, Leonard Kalate, Emmanuel Nuna, Felix Devlin, Josh Tarere, Angus Dubar, Sheldon Plummer, Jeankapa Koupa, Ryan Maskelyne, Jasmine Mileng. 
In the Gold Junior Excellence squad, Ramia Takin, Catherine Vali, Ebony Tkatchenko, Raila Ila and Matthew Vali were named and for the Silver Junior squad Rehema Kalate, Chelsea Johns, Nolan Vava, Luke Vava, Jeremiah Tkatchenko, Adam Green and Marcel Whitfield claimed places.
PNG Swimming president Wells said more swimmers could be added to these squads once they attained the qualifying times over the next 12 months.
The event’s success was due to the co-operation of many parties.
Wells thanked the technical officials under the direction of PNG referee Sue Babao, Sarenah Pini and Albert Vigil who ran proceedings under FINA competition rules. 
Wells said no competition could take place without a major sponsor in place and international haulage and cargo transport company TNT provided the funding and support to PNGSI, officials and athletes to enable the competition to be a success.
She added that security firm Guard Dog Security transported visiting officials to and from the venue (Coronation School) as well as their arrival in the Morobe capital and departure after the event.