PNGVF names train-on squads

Main Stories, Sports

The National – Wednesday, February 2, 2011

THE PNG Volleyball Federation has announced its development squad for the Arafura Games and the national team for the Pacific Games in Noumea, New Caledonia, this year.
The development train-on squad consists of U21 players who were selected from the U21 championships in Lae last year.
Federation vice-president Bernard Alu said 52 men and women were selected for both sides and will be trimmed to 12 players to make up the final team in March.
All Lae-based players have been advised to contact Mathew Walo and Kila Joe for further details while Port Moresby-based players are asked to meet with the team’s management at the Taurama Leisure centre at 4.30pm tomorrow for a briefing.
The national team will be participating at the Pacific Games in August and PNG will be a threat to other Pacific Island countries after their successful campaign at the Oceania tournament last year.
Most of the national players will also be taking part in the Arafura Games representing Team NCD and, also Vabukori will be defending their title at this year’s event.
However, Alu said the development squad was an impressive side and when the final team was announced they should prove a handful for their opponents at the Arafura Games.
Alu added that the games would also be a window of opportunity to warm-up at the international level before heading to the Pacific Games.
The national men’s squad: Graham Oeka, Richard Batari, Loi Walo, Joe Mako, Michael Aisi, Jeffrey Charlie, Jeffery Fo’o, Ravu Mahuru, Richard Kila Hula, Tuvy Kapa, Veleke Kila, Kala Kila, Joseph Iviang, Veupu Kila, George David, Gerea Kila, Ula Gima, Tuksy Maino, Francis Mage, Tau Muri, Vela Ralewa, Ogi Lelesi, Moha Mea, Moses Arier, Gary Udia and Philip Naleng. The coach is Tommy Lui and team manager is Turaho Morea.
The women’s squad: Houvu Thompson, Nellie Lavari, Sarufa Tore, Jennifer Laka, Madia Hairai, Lily Laho, Philo Ameisa, Veuga Omoa, Annrika Garena, Mari Otio, Jossie Dick, Eileen Gima, Maria Daku, Sucklyn James, Lois Garena Fairfax, Manu Kapa, Organ Ilaitia, Isa Hicks, Annie Naleng, Debbie Tau, Lindol John, Clera Kila, Bessie Bandu and Sarea Kada. The coach is Michael Unatah and team manager is Piti Johang.
The federation also has an exciting calendar of events to roll out this year. It includes an inter-school competition under a new concept of “mass volleyball,” sub-zonal beach volleyball tournaments overseas, national beach volleyball tours and the Pacific Games.
This year’s national open and U21 championships will be held in Port Moresby in October, as endorsed at the AGM held in Lae last year.