Pom nameU20 squad

Normal, Sports

PORT Moresby finalised its Under 20 Rugby Union squad for Saturday’s final selection trial against Lae.
The 28-man squad was named after Saturday afternoon’s trial at the Bava Park in Port Moresby.
The side is Shane Koal, Karaut Aimo, Shaun Kamburi, Winti Pena, Chauka Posolok, Gabriel Biyama, Taina Koal, Larry Dagina, Henry Vinavel, Fairi Fairi, Joshua Posu, Royce Bua, Jonah Kautu Jr, Allan Kasalau, Benjamin Ruimb, Karo Kauna Jr, Raphael Saia, Solomon Bukan, Jason Rupen and Richard Karepa.
Making the Port Moresby side two and the opportunity of one more step towards national jerseys are Rabaul trio, Henry Vinavel, Stanley Lavett Jr, and James Lumaris, Kavieng’s Joe Tabutabu Jr, Mendi’s Ronnie Tenza, Bougainville’s Jimmy Pahia, and Brisbane-based duo Allan Weller and Nigel Genia.
Genia’s elder brothers Francis and Will are both representative players at the top level. Francis is the current Pukpuk fly half while Will is the incumbent Australian Wallabies halfback.
Coach John Pangkatana, when announcing the team said it was a tough task, knowing everyone had done the hard work.
“Lae will be tough but the boys in the final 28 basically picked themselves. It will be about getting the combinations right this week.
This selection is one step closer for the boys towards national colours,” Pangkatana said.
He thanked the families and supporters of the players for their commitment as the boys take the next step at the representative level.