POMRFL board voted in for another three years

Normal, Sports

MEMBERS of the Port Moresby Rugby Football League (POMRFL) have full confidence in the current board and have retained them for another three-year term.
The affiliates showed their support during the annual general meeting (AGM) at the Shady Rest Hotel in Port Moresby recently.
Incumbent chairman Solomon Ravu was elected unopposed followed by his senior deputy Joe Boino and junior deputy Labi Amaiu. Also retaining their seats were treasurer David Silovo, secretary Thomas Tarabu and Dr Gideon Kendino.
The POMRFL board said they would announce their 2010 rugby league calendar early next month. The board will also announce the composition of the competition.
Currently, there are 12 teams – Brothers, Magani, Royals Paga Panthers, Defence, Tarangau, Hawks, Mairi Eagles, West, Souths, Kone Tigers, Butterflies and Dobo Warriors – competing this season.
Ravu thanked all the clubs and affiliates for having confidence in his administration by re-electing them for another term.
He commended the clubs in the premier and U19 divisions for participating in last year’s competition.
This year’s competition is expected to be another successful year in the Port Moresby rugby league calendar as the teams vie for the title next year.
Reigning premiers UMW Brothers will be out to defend their title as this year’s champions while runners-up and finals hopefuls KAL Magani will step up another gear to have another crack at the ultimate prize.