Port Moresby nines deferred due to funding

Normal, Sports

The National, Wednesday February 26th, 2014


PORT Moresby Rugby League Super Nines tournament has now deferred to March 5-7.

The PRL board made the decision because the 16 premier clubs had yet to pay the K200 affiliation fee and a sponsor has yet to be confirmed.  

The cash prize will be finalised as soon as a major sponsor is secured.

PRL operations manager Meke Maino said 32 teams have confirmed  participation but have to clear payment of affiliation fees.

The deadline is now extended to Friday.

He said the outside teams have met the requirements but the premier clubs have failed to do the same.

Teams like Brothers, Butterflies, Royals, Magani, Tarangau and Paga Panthers claimed to have settled the fees but have yet to produce the deposit slips to Maino.

Maino said teams were place in eight pools of four teams each and draws confirmed.

The teams: Brothers, Kone Storms, Magani, Souths, Tarangau, Dobo Warriors, Waliya, Royals (2), Defence, Butterflies, West, Kone Tigers, Paga Panthers, Hohola Flies, Pumas, Hanuabada Hawks, Maiari Eagles, Rigo Coast Warriors, Maopa Paio, Papa RIL Roadside and Rovanama.

He said games will be played at PNG Defence Force oval at Murray Barracks and Ipi Park Hohola.