Powi leads SHP regional race

National, Normal

The National, Friday July 27th, 2012

MORE than six eliminations remain before a winner is declared for the Southern Highlands regional seat.
The candidates in the race after count 15 are William Powi, Joseph Kobol, Jerry Kiwai, Vincent Mirupasi, Sylvester Komba, Dickson Pena Tasi, Roy Yaki, Anthony Temo and Timothy Titipu.
However, the counting continues with a winner expected to be declared by today in Mendi.
As of count 15, former provincial administrator William Powi is leading with 108,652 after 5,700 primary votes in his name were disqualified from his stronghold of Nipa-Kutubu. They were rejected by Electoral Commissioner Andrew Trawen.