Pukpuks name 7s train-on squad


MAX Vali, Arthur Clement and Eugene Tokavai have been named in the Pukpuks 21-man train-on squad for next month’s Oceania Sevens Championships at ANZ Stadium in Suva, Fiji.
Fifteen teams, including a development side from Japan, will compete at the Nov 7-9 tournament.
Following the National Provincial Championships in Lae over the weekend, two squads have been identified for the national sevens programme.
On Sunday, National Capital District Rugby Union beat a strong Lae Rugby Union One outfit 14-12 to claim the men’s title.
Earlier, Lae Rugby Union edged Capital Rugby Union 10-7 in the first semifinal.
In the second semifinal, NCD Rugby Union beat Morobe Rugby Union One 27-0.
Goroka Rugby Union won the Plate and Morobe Schoolboys secured the Bowl.
From the programme, a 21-man train-on squad has been selected to assemble in Port Moresby.
The squad will train and trial before a 12-man squad is finalised on Oct 21. “Two players who did not play at the National Provincial Championships over the weekend have been included in the train-on squad,” Papua New Guinea Rugby Union said in a statement yesterday.
“Their provincial teams were unable to attend the tournament due to circumstances beyond their control.
“These two players are Rabaul Stallions’ William Tirang and Manus Nalins’ Patrick Tatut.
“Both players have been the mainstay of the national sevens programme and have performed to a consistently high standard during that time.”
Programme squad: Max Vali, Francis Luveni, Henry Sukumbal, Sove Waulas, Arnold Osom, Ben Kilala, Paul Nelson, Samuel Malambes, Robin Loma, Eliud Hosea, Maluai Patala, Benjamin Boas, Brendon Yenmoro, Barnabas Malambes, Emil Latumahina, Himah Alu, Arthur Clement, Shallendrah Birney, Freddy Rova, Junias Taule, Keith Tore, Jeremiah Semoso, Eugene Tokavai, Willie Kalai, Arnold Lange, Jordan Alois, Emmanuel Soli, Henry Turadawai, Benson Haya, Carlos Lung, Patrick Sabutan, Theo Bogan, Arthur Patala, Emmanuel Anis, Cedric Pora, Norman William, Ian Alesi, William Tirang, Patrick Tatut, Wesley Vali, Emmanuel Guise, Daniel Opa, Dean Manale, Henry Kalua.
Train-on squad: Max Vali, Francis Luveni, Ben Kilala, Henry Sukumbal, Paul Nelson, Arnold Osom, Samuel Malambes, Barnabas Malambes, Eliud Hosea, Robin Loma, Maluai Patala, Emil Latumahina, Arthur Clement, Himah Alu, Freddy Rova, Junias Taule, Keith Tore, Eugene Tokavai, Shallendrah Birney, William Tirang, Patrick Tatut Manus.

Leave a Reply