Rugby 7s trialists named

Normal, Sports

The National

RUGBY PNG conducts trials in Port Moresby tomorrow to select its final squad for the South Pacific Mini Games to be held in Cook Islands later this month.
The PNGRFU president Richard Sapias advised that the new executive of the PNGRFU was starting from “ground zero” in trying to rebuild the team for the future and this was the first step in that process.
“The trial squad selected consists predominately of uncapped players from the various centres and will be put through a gruelling one-day trial under the watchful eye of the new national coach Waisele Serevi,” Sapias said.
The MRDC-sponsored team would then go into camp next Sunday before departing on Sept 21 for Cook Islands.
 Sapias also added that all players would have the opportunity to push for national selections with their respective provincial teams when the National MRDC Sevens is staged in Port Moresby next month.
Players from other provinces have been requested to collect their tickets at the Air Niugini office or contact the Rugby PNG office on 3238900.
The trialists are: Yaisuo Giheno, Richard Nake (Goroka), Michael Vitolo, Nelson Daplin, Daniel Ponda, Gare Ponda (Kimbe), Neil Wimbi, Willy Sukumbal, Nobot Yauwing, Wally Pereta (Lae), Macky Eriba (Oro), Avosa Kaipu, Constantine Bias, Joshua Sasangi, Monte Diave, Tommy Kivu, Ali Pinda, Baron Kengi, Bomai Kaupa, Chris Kakah, Iala Roko, Issac Wagofa, Kojo Ware, Michael Gugu, Raiqarawa Moere, Richard Kambo, Tisa Kautu, Willie Rapilla (POM), Bagelo Babaga, Jeffrey Vinevel, Bobby Pau, Eric Kaiat  (Rabaul) Heni Herea, Pala Volu (Aroma) Smith Lakas, Tony Kevi (Kavieng).