Rugby eyes major 7s events


Papua New Guinea Rugby Union (PNGRU) is aiming to compete in two major world sevens tournaments, it said when naming its squad yesterday.
A 28-member men’s squad and a 30-member women’s squad were released by the union in preparation for upcoming qualifiers for the Commonwealth Games and World Sevens series.
The union said in a statement that both the Palais (women) and Pukpuks (men) train-on teams would begin preparations for the Oceania qualifiers for the 2022 Commonwealth Games and Sevens Rugby World Cup later this year in Brisbane, Australia. “The squad will go into camp on Monday, January 16,” the PNGRU said.
“The men’s team will be coached by Ian Leklek and assisted by Aiem Pilokos while the women’s team will be coached by John Larry.
“Players are advised to contact the Rugby office and make their way to Port Moresby before the start of camp.”
Meanwhile, PNGRU’s game development manager, Sailosi Druma, told The National that each squad would be trimmed down to 12 players to travel to the qualifiers.
“From the train-on squads, we’re looking at getting 12 players for both the men’s and women’s teams ready before they leave for the qualifiers,” the game development manager said.
“There’s already a calendar drawn up so they will be having trial matches (domestically) and be part of PNGRFU’s upcoming super sevens series so we’re expecting a good turnout from those players selected.”
Men’s squad: Dean Manale, Freddy Rova (Gerehu Natives), Arthur Clement, Wesley Vali, Willie Tirang, Emil Latumahina, Shallendrah Birney, Eliude Hosea, Emmanuel Guise (Brothers POM), Manu Patala, Andrew Turlom (PC Ravens), Mhustapha Goena, Derrick Volu (Sisilpak), John Paul Mangio, Dickson Morrison, Junias Sabata (Kimbe Pirates), Jackie Markus, Lateh Kunat (New Ireland), Randall Pakure (Juggernauts),Denis Segera (University), Jacky Winas (Madang Spartans), Richard Mauti (Sepik Tentikels) Junias Guan (Rabaul Stallions), Tamas Barry (Daru), Chris Benjamin, Kennedy Benjamin, Paul Peter (ENB), Gerry Sepa (Amaroa); Women’s squad: Joanne Butler, Doreen Kaputin, Naomi Kelly, Cynthia Peter, Doreen Haea (ENB), Lyan Philemon, Sharon Korbor, Joanne Laguna, Chelsea Garesa, Barbara Sigere, Cathy Puro, Kymlie Rapilla, Geua Larry, Helen Abau, Gwen Pokana, Fatima Rama, Marie Siari, Marie Biyama, Emmalyn John, Alice Alois, Nasha Ipai, Augusta Livuana, Esther Gigimat, Lynette Aua, Cassandra Sampson, Teffie Andrew, Darlene Aihi, Tere Rema, Freda Waula, Eswhin Kaiat (POM).