Selectors poised to retain Delhi 12

Normal, Sports

The National – Monday, December 20, 2010

THERE will be few surprises when the PNG Rugby Football Union  announces its 12-man PNG sevens side for the Darwin “Hottest” sevens next month in Australia.
The team is likely to be the same one which won the Bowl at the Commonwealth Games in India two months ago.
PNG sevens coordinator Keith Puaria said the selectors had kept close tabs on the form of the current squad and were satisfied with performances at the national sevens earlier this month in Kokopo, ENB.
“The PNGRFU has not endorsed the team selected for Darwin but I can say that selectors have found no reason to make any wholesale changes; everyone’s form has been pleasing,” Puaria said.
The former Pukpuk inside back said coach Shane Howarth  had seen  for himself the progress squad members had made and was confident the team would continue to improve in the new year.
Puaria added that there were two new faces included in an extended 14-man squad.
“Jack Mesili (Kimbe Rebels) and Jason Missian (ENB Kaias) really put their hands up in Kokopo and they’ve been included but the squad will be reduced to a travelling 12 while the remaining players will be shadows.”
The PNG sevens squad is Monty Diave, Mesili, Missian, Eugene Tokavai, Henry Liliket, Tisa Kautu, Albert Levi Jr, Douglas Guise, Nelson Daplin, Shadrach Gabiliha, Raymond Vagi, Gare Ponda, Chris  Kakah (c) and Smith Lakas.