Seven contesting for president’s post in Bougainville elections

National, Normal


NOMINATIONS for the 40-seat House of Representatives for Bougainville closed last Friday with seven candidates to vying for the presidency.
The total number of candidates for all the seats is not known as the final list from the districts have not
reached the election’s returning officer in Buka.
Returning officer George Tarara said due to communication difficulties, he was unable to get the final figures of candidates from the Central and South Bougainville.
According to the records he received by yesterday afternoon, 266 candidates have nominated for the 40 seats.
The seven running for president include incumbent James Tanis, Reuben Siara, John Momis, Martin Miriori, Robert Atsir, Sylvester Niu and the only female candidate, Magdalene Itona Toroansi.
Constituency that received the highest number of candidates was the Haku seat on Buka Island with 20 candidates.
Only two women have nominated to contest constituency seats in South Bougainville while 19 women will be contesting for the three reserved seats for women in the House of Representatives.