Softball championships kick off

Normal, Sports

The National, Friday 14th September 2012

IT will be a two-way battle for the 2012 InterOil softball club championship between Port Moresby and Lae teams during the Independence weekend in Lae starting today.
Port Moresby’s top four teams in the men’s division PNG Powers, Bears, Gazelle and United Brothers are capable of winning the title as are to Lae’s Karanas, Manalos, and Fireball.
PNG Powers will be relying on the Tovia brothers Danny, Isikel jnr and Demas to lead the Port Moresby champions.
The United Brothers have Dick Bart Jnr, Samuel Ropa,
and Glen Niggins.
Gazelle have an unknown pack while Bears, who were surprised minor premiers, are also capable of pulling surprises on the diamonds.
In the women’s division, Manalos of Lae are out to defend their title for a 10th consecutive year. They have won the last 9 national championships.
Manalos will show their force against the Port Moresby teams such as United Sisters, AB Bears and Stingers.
Manalos have already been tipped to defend their title, relying on the ToManagana sisters, Tara and Debbie.
The winners in both men and women will pocket K7,000 while the runner-up gets K5,000, third placing with K3,000 and the fourth placedteams will walk away a -consolation prize of K1,000 each.
The confirmed teams: Men; PNG Power, Bears, Gazelle, United Brothers (POM), Karanas, Manalos, Marlins, Fireballs (Lae), Karanas (Tabubil), NGI, Gazelle (Mt Hagen), V3 Dogs (Ramu), 09ERS, NT Tigers (Madang).
Women: United Sisters, Bears, Stingerz (POM), Manalos, Stormers, Karanas (Lae), Karanas (Tabubil), United, 89ERS (Ramu), NGI (Mt Hagen).