State to appoint 11

Main Stories

THE National Executive Council plans to appoint the heads (secretaries) of nine departments and two provincial administrations this year, according to Public Service Minister Elias Kapavore.
The departments (with those currently in acting secretary positions in brackets) are Petroleum (Kepsy Puiye), Energy (Paulias Koni), Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology (Fr Jan Czuba), Agriculture and Livestock (Francis Daink), Defence (Trevor Meauri), Personnel Management (Taias Sansan), National Planning and Monitoring (Koney Samuel), Implementation and Rural Development (Aihi Vaki), and Labour and Industrial Relations.
The provincial administrators to be appointed are for Southern Highlands (Joe Cajetan is acting) and Milne Bay (Sharon Mua is acting).
Kapavore, pictured, said the Lands and Physical Planning Department Secretary was still under suspension.
Similarly, the Northern and Madang provincial administrators are still under suspension.
“My department is working with the (Northern and Madang) governors and provincial executive councils to fast-track the disciplinary procedures to (reach) the final outcomes for the two suspended administrators.”
Kapavore is happy with what was achieved last year.
The ministerial executive appointment committee he heads and comprising the ministers for Treasury, National Planning, Justice and Attorney-General deliberated on 87 matters.
“We assessed the shortlisted candidates provided by the Department of Personnel Management and recommend (them) to the National Executive Council (to make) appointments,” Kapavore said.
“We filled 15 heads of department positions out of 24. We did well by appointing 17 provincial administrators.”
The committee also appointed board members of the Lands department, Civil Aviation and Safety Authority, National Housing Corporation, Sports Foundation, National Institute of Standards and Industrial Technology, Oil Palm Industry Corporation, Tourism Promotion Authority and Mineral Resources Authority.
“Many of these boards had not existed for years,” he said.
Kapavore said in the health sector, appointments were made for the provincial health authority boards in Western Highlands, Manus, West New Britain, Enga, Southern Highlands, Northern, Madang, East New Britain, Jiwaka and West Sepik.
“We will continue to liaise with the Department of Health to fast-track the appointment of board members for other provincial health authorities,” Kapavore said.
He thanked committee members Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer Charles Abel, National Planning Minister Richard Maru and Attorney-General David Steven for their contributions.

Leave a Reply