Super 9s meet to start PRL season

Normal, Sports


THE 2010 Port Moresby Rugby League competition will kick off with a Super Nines tournament from Feb 5-7 at the Lloyd Robson Oval.
Port Moresby Rugby League chairman Solomon Ravu said  nominations for the Super Nines tournament were K250 per team.
The amount can be deposited to the PRL account.
Invitations have also been extended to teams from the regional 9s tournament Cup winners and the runners-up and the Port Moresby Suburban League.
Ravu also said 14 clubs would be participating this season over 28 weeks before proceeding into the finals which will go for four weeks.
The grand final is expected to be held on Sept 12.
The Port Moresby rugby league grand final last year coincided with the bemobile Cup preliminary final because of the late start to the semi-professional rugby league challenge.
Clubs in last season’s competition were  reigning premiers Brothers, runners-up Magani, Butterflies, Defence, Dobo Warriors, Hawks, Kone Tigers, Maiari Eagles, Paga Panthers, Royals, Souths, Tarangau, and Wests.