Tarangau maintain lead in Pom league

Normal, Sports


SKIPPER Charles Onguglo scored a hat-trick to help Hekari Tarangau maintain their lead and continue their unbeaten run in the Port Moresby rugby league A grade competition after round six yesterday.
Onguglo playing at five-eighth played an outstanding captain’s role to score the double in the opening half while he picked up a single in the final half to help Tarangau beat Butterflies 18-14.
In results of other matches played over the weekend, Souths drew with Hawks 18-18 on Friday night while yesterday, Brothers beat Paga 18-10, Dobo Warriors leaped over Magani 10-6, Kavo Wests downed Royals 16-8, Kone Storms held Defence 18-18 draw and Kone Tigers beat Maiari Eagles  16-14.
Onguglo is also sending a message out to bemobile franchise clubs that he has the speed and clean footwork around the ruck and is available for selection.
Both tries were successfully converted by big foot John Giru to ensure they are in front.
Nothing must be taken away from Butterflies who rallied back to narrow the gap through old workhorse Johnson Kuike.
Kuike’s try was successfully converted by his captain and halfback Stanley Torato to keep their opponents from Bomana within reach.
Tarangau through their hardworking forwards Giru, Suckling Danage, Supa Kokote, Emmanuel Agua and Andrew Umba played their hearts out.
They receive good support from their backline with Onguglo calling the shots at five-eighth position with young halfback Jojo Forova.
Butterflies forward led by Kuike, Jerry Tapara, Aaron Mulunga, Agapite Amos, Simon Nuabo also play their best while Enoch Yori, Nickey Minimbi and Torata played strongly but could not break the Tarangau defence as went into the break trailing 12-6.
In the second half, Tarangau coach Dr James Naipao instructed his boys to keep their cool and lift their performance.
Onguglo again displayed his clean pair of heels to score under the posts for the Warders to cushion their lead 18-6 before Butterflies Steve Poevare and Yori close the gap to 18-14.
Tarangau now lead the competition with 12 points, Kone Storms nine, Maiari Eagles eight, Brothers seven, Hawks seven, Magani six, Butterflies six, Dobo Warriors six, Defence five, Royals four, Wests four, Paga three, Souths three and Kone Tigers two.