Teams on track for playoffs


SOUTHERN Nines favourites Taurama Siporo Magpies, Erima Laumas and defending champions Gavuone Lako are on track for the Cup playoffs after impressive starts in the rugby league tournament.
The Cup winners take K10,000 in the 15th edition of the annual tournament at the National Football Stadium in Port Moresby.
A total of 32 teams will enter the cup and plate playoffs with Lako, Mapgies and Laumas looking to continue their form on day four of the Sportz Events-backed tournament.
The hopes of SSG Roosters will depend on percentage as the Fuzzy Wuzzy Nines champions look to sneak into the top 32. Another 16 teams will play for the Bowl and Pennant.
The title outsiders are South Side Eels, Gaivakala, North Dingo Gold, Lako Development, Gaba Joyce Bay, Benpro Rebels, Pegala, City Dogs, KS Trans Drifters, Benpro Feeders, KK Lemoko, Taurama Waves, Borenumu Flyers, Koita Cowboys, Baruni Limestones and Keakalo Spartans.
Sportz Events executive director Ivan Ravu said the preliminary and grand finals would be played tomorrow.
“This will be followed by the presentation of awards for the Cup, Plate, Bowl and Pennant categories.
“Other team and individual awards will also be presented.”
Results: Tues, Dec 10 – SSG Roosters 8 Bips Patu 4, Lako Dvelopment 25 Roku Tuhava One 0, Koita Cowboys 10 Davage Sharks 10, Aroma Coast 18 Veifa’a Spartans 10, Baruni Limestones 10 GM Brothers 4, Koita Warriors 4 Roku Tuhava Two 0, Benpro Rebels 18 Waestern Barras 4, Borenumu Flyers 15 Shekinah Brothers 0, Poreporena Marlins 20 Balimo Swamp Dwellers 10, Inauaia Roosters 11 Stripling Warriors 4, Siporo Magpies 26 Vula’a Oru Mix 10, Laumas 14 Pagela 10.