The National win women’s corporate cricket crown

Normal, Sports


THE National claimed the women’s Corporate Cricket Cup challenge in a nail-biting final with a gritty one-run victory over Pacific Technology, yesterday at the Colts cricket grounds.
After winning the toss, Pacific Technology, decided to bat first in an allotted eight-over match to register 69 runs, with solid batting from their youngsters Sima John (21) and Techla Boto, who register valuable double figures.
Their innings further fell apart when captain Rita Renagi, did the damage yet again to remove Debi Tau, seen them reeling 48 runs in the sixth over.
Veteran campaigner Muraka Mavara, despite being the eldest out on the park, did wonders for her younger teammates dominating both with ball and bat throughout the game.
The National restricted their opponents to three wickets for 69 runs at the end of the eight over.
The run chase did not start off well for The National losing cheap wickets of Sheba Airo, for a duck, and Hane Mavara (one) through clean piece of balling from Debra Tau.
It was Mary Mavara’s patient batting combining well with Pauke Siaka, who belted two sixes before being clean bowled by Tau, sending a nervous finish for The National women.
The introduction of veteran 55-year-old Mavara, who was the hero of the one day tournament, came to rescue to sneak through with the assistance from Loi Guria, who hit the winning run in the last ball of the match.
Companies who participated in the eight-a-side eight over per side event were: BSP (two teams), ITI, ANZ, Kina Finance (two teams), Post PNG, PNG Ports, Hebou Construction, The National, IBS, Air Niugini, Ela Motors, Pacific Technologies, Brian Bell and PNG Sports Federation.