Three to be inducted


THE PNG Olympic Committee is set to announce three new inductees in to the Papua New Guinea Sports Hall of Fame tomorrow.
Although the identities of the latest members to be immortalised for their achievements and contributions have not been made known, a release from the PNGOC said: “One conquered the ring, one conquered the courts and one conquered the pool, through their achievements they united a nation and set the foundations for sport and the future.
“These three Papua New Guinea sporting icons will be immortalised in the country’s sporting history when they join other greats in the Papua New Guinea Sports Hall of Fame.”
Names of the three will be revealed during the induction ceremony tonight at the Paradise Cinema’s Premium Lounge at the Vision City Mega Mall in Port Moresby.
“The former athletes hail from athletics, netball and softball, and swimming and were dominant figures in the 1960s and 1970s.
“Through their successful sporting careers they have contributed to the early development and recognition of sport and PNG as a nation before independence. They competed at the highest levels and achieved some of the best results the country has seen,” the PNGOC release said.
“They are now being recognised and honoured as some of this country’s greatest sportsmen and women whose stories can be shared to inspire the next generation of champions.” In the Sports Hall of Fame, the trio will join a special group of elite former athletes which include
Sir John Kaputin (athletics), Edward Laboran (athletics), Jackson and David Seeto (weightlifting), Tumat Sogolik (boxing), Salitia Pipit (athletics), Nigel Cluer (swimming), Raki Leka (athletics), Naomi Polum (athletics), John Kokinai (athletics) and Oe Ivaharia (athletics).
PNGOC secretary-general Auvita Rapilla, pictured, said athletes had always been an inspiration to the nation through their achievements and success and the Hall of Fame honoured their contribution to sports and the country.
“They have become a part of our history and we are delighted to induct these three champions into the Hall of Fame,” Rapilla said.
“I look forward to applauding their induction at the ceremony.”
The Sports Hall of Fame is presented by the PNGOC and is held every year to commemorate the life and achievements of PNG’s sporting legends.
For details about the Hall of Fame, contact the PNGOC commercial team on 323 0114, 325 1411 or email [email protected] or visit the Hall of Fame at

Leave a Reply