Top 16 decided for zone playoffs

Normal, Sports

The National, Thursday August 1st, 2013

 SIXTEEN sides have qualified for the playoffs in the Southern Zone Trials in Kwikila today.

The teams will play in the elimination finals with the winners advancing to the quarter-finals today. 

The semi-finals and the final is tomorrow.

Only four teams, Tubusereia Lakwaharu, Kairuku, Barakau and Rigo Central missed the cut.

Top 16: Port Moresby, NCD Suburban Ducks, Popondetta, Alotau, Rigo Manuna, Koiari, Kerema, Kavo Gulf, Aroma Coast, Marshall Lagoon, Pari, Gaire, Koiari, Gabagaba Tabubil and Rigo Manuna. 

Elimination finals: 08:00 Rigo Coast vs Popondetta, 08:30 Pari vs Kavo Gulf, 09:00 Aroma Coast vs Alotau, 09:30 Marshall Lagoon vs NCD Suburban, 10:00 Koiari vs Gabagaba, 10:30 Kerema vs Rigo Manuna, 11:00 Port Moresby vs Tabubil, 11:30 Hanuabada vs Gaire. 

Results: Marshall Lagoon 28 Tubusereia Lakwaharu 4, Popondetta 12 Gabagaba 4, Kavo Gulf 8 NCD Suburban Ducks 0, Aroma Coast forfeited Port Moresby, Rigo Manuna 12 Gaire 12, Rigo Central 18 Barakau 0.