Top Logohu honour for B’ville bishop

Main Stories, National

The National

THE Catholic bishop of Bougainville, Henk Kronenberg, is the sole recipient of the highest award in the 2009 Independence Day anniversary honours list announced yesterday by Governor-General Sir Paulias Matane.
Bishop Kronenberg was bestowed with the title of “Chief” for dedicated service to the people of Bougainville and the Catholic church.
Government House said in a statement announcing the honours list that Bishop Kronenberg was awarded the “Grand companion of the Order of Logohu” for his contribution to the development of the Catholic church as a missionary priest of the congregation of the Marist fathers.
He has been a Catholic priest for more than 40 years and bishop of the diocese of Bougainville since 1999.
Bishop Kronenberg headed a list of 109 recipients, including eight for church and church-related work throughout the country.
Among noted personalities who received awards was acting head of the National AIDS Council secretariat, Wep Kanawi.
Mr Kanawi, the immediate past administrator of Manus, where he hails from, was awarded the Star of Melanesia (CSM) for service to public administration and governance in his distinguished career as a senior public servant and departmental head.
The award was also for his leadership of major sports, notably soccer, and to the community through his active involvement in humanitarian and charity causes.
A long-term resident, Dr Lucio Tan, also got a Star of Melanesia award for his significant contribution to the PNG economy as a long-term investor in industry and business.
It was noted that Dr Tan was a major employer and a significant supporter of charitable and community causes.
Lamana Hotel general manager Yiannis Nicolaou was also recognised for his service to tourism and hospitality as well as the community through his support for sports and training of national employees.
He has been made a Member of the Order of Logohu (ML) along with 15 other recipients.
In the military division, three former commanders of the PNG Defence Force were recognised for their military service.
Brig-Gen Robert Dademo, Brig-Gen Rockus Lokinap and Brig-Gen Tony Huai were awarded the Distinguished Military Service Medal (DMS) for service to the PNG Defence Force.
All have retired from the force.