VAVA elects new office bearers

Normal, Sports

PAPUA New Guinea’s champion volleyball association, Vabukori Amateur Volleyball Association (VAVA), has confirmed its new executives for the next two years.
In a special meeting held last Sunday, newly-elected president Ben Aiga took over the reigns from Turaho Morea, who was elected president of the PNG Volleyball Federation at last year’s annual general meeting (AGM) at the national championships in Kokopo, East New Britain province.
The other executives elected were Diavabu Dixie Morea (vice-president), Aileen Mahuru (secretary), Diana Morea (vice secretary), Sioni Willie Moses (treasurer) and Mickey Reatau Rau (vice-treasurer).
The match committee chairman Aiga Kila will be assisted by Gima Kivio, while the disciplinary committee will be headed by Jack Mahuru and Steven Mase will be the new selection committee chairman.
 Mahuru, Moses, Rau and Jack Mahuru are new members elected to the executive level.
“I welcome them for accepting their roles, in particular Jack, who will instill discipline within the association and, among the players, officials and supporters, to ensure their conduct on and off the court is maintained at high level at all times,” he said.