Wampar LLG declares winner

National, Normal

The National, Monday August 5th, 2013


MICHAEL Poane has been elected president of the Wampar Local Level Government in Huon Gulf, after edging out Rudy Artango, the only female candidate for the seat.

Poane polled 2,873 to beat Artango by 261 votes. Former president Peter Namus polled 1,198 votes to finish fourth.

Apart from Poane, the other two presidents elected were Philemon Tomala (Salamaua) and Otti Bagiro (Morobe post). 

They will work with MP Ross Seymour.

Poane thanked Namus for his leadership in the past five years and urged him and the other 33 candidates to support him and make Wampara a “model” LLG. Wampar is experiencing an increase in the number of settlements, with too many companies acquiring land to establish businesses.

“That requires collective ideas to discuss and to ensure issues were ironed out in a respectable manner while businesses and people settle in peace and contribute to the improvement of the LLG, district, province and country,” Poane said.