We are halfway through, says Iffy

Main Stories, Sports

The National – Tuesday, December 7, 2010

THE national coordinator for the National Rugby League (NRL) Bid’s all schools programme, Iffysoe Segeyaro, has confirmed that the school carnivals concept was now partly completed.
He said schools under the programme in Southern Highlands were the latest to complete their inter-schools carnival last week.
The Mendi select side school defeated the Ialibu side 20-0 in the final  in Mendi town.
Segeyaro said only Lae’s programme was incomplete with Butibam Primary School, one of the biggest participating schools, yet to play the Lae select side.
“Each of the eight participating schools will have their respective development squads where nuclear players will be identified and selected for the ‘tops camp’ to be held in Port Moresby,” he said.
He stressed the importance of each participating centre to have a nucleus which will be like the cream from the centres, that would go for the tops camp for three to four days.
“Some of the top NRL coaches and trainers will visit the camp to teach young players  training techniques and the culture of rugby league.
“If they are lucky enough they could be identified  for NRL camps in Australia,” Segeyaro said.
It is leaned that former Australian five-eighth Laurie Daley and his coaching staff from the Australian Indigenous team will be visiting the tops camp.
National Capital District schools completed their selection of the development squad which are: Port Moresby one Kingsley Ragu (St Peters), Luke Savere (Ted Diro), Rick Maya (Bavaroko), James Avira (Kila Kila), Emmanuel Volu (Boreboa), Rodney Andrew (St Theresa), William More (Hohola Demonstration), Richard Pius (Bavaroko), Sanderick David (New Erima), Jeffrey Mark (Hohola Demonstration), Pipi Gari (Hagara), Arua Boe (Hagara), Pembo Pokeya (Gerehu), Christopher Simon (New Erima), Jordan Kuno (Koroboro International), Ben Rondy (Kila Kila), Lionel Pandum (Pomis), Simon Iso (St Theresa), Jason Hane (New Erima) and John Olio (New Erima).
The Port Moresby two squad are Benjamin Wemin (Eki Vaki), Varage Wari (Pomis), Sele Sapulai (Pomis), Frddie Rova  (Gerehu), Junior Benson (Bavaroko), Cletus Ake (St Peters), Nicholas Koma (St Theresa), Justin Ali (Hohola), Ismael Indipin (Pomis), Patrick Ane (St Theresa), William Matinitini (Pomis), Charlton Berapu (Pomis), Emmanuel Tamanabae (Koroboro International), Jordan Tangua (Eki Vaki), Bob Gore (New Erima), Tom Max (New Erima), Justine Solomon (Koroboro International), Nicholas Krewanty (Pomis), Yope Kekeno (Boreboa) and Kapo Taylor (Pomis).