Women’s squads chosen for PM’s 13 curtain raiser

Normal, Sports

The National, Wednesday 22nd August, 2012

PROMOTING the theme “Say No to Violence Against Women” in the Prime Minister’s 13 challenge, the Port Moresby Women’s Rugby League named its training squads to play the curtainraiser.
President of POMWRFL Elsie Siki yesterday released two training squads – PRL Bilum One and PRL Bilum Two – to start preparing for the showdown.
Siki urged the players to attend the squad briefing at 2.30pm on Friday at PRL Oval.
Team One: Dianne Kurukiu (Magani), Nancy Digal, Lucy Keva, Karen Hame (Royals), Cathy Neap, Lilly Mulake, Natalie Tamanabae, Cynthia Male (Paga), Margaret Luke, Jorin Joseph, Bena Gairo, Melisa Tore, Abigail Jayjay, Dela Audama (Sisters), Sophie Onguglo (Tarangau), Lynette Kwarula, Naomi Alapi and Carol John (Dobo Warriors), Joane Jack (Defence), Hellen Jared (Hawks).
Team managerment: Coach Rodney Onguglo, trainer Sammy Rise (Royals), manager Rosely Erum and doctor Maggie Dokup.
Team Two: Ruth Kawage, Kylie Gabriel, Rachel David, Maryanne Kua, Betty Yambo (Tarangau), Naomi Maima, Freda Waula, Mely Jacobs, Margaret Geluwa (Royals), Margaret Wingti, Aiks John, Amanda Wantape, Roselyn John (Paga), Nancy Mealan, Mathilda Iso, Nancy Miran (Sisters) and Namoi Wai, Maggie Wai, Desmonda Agula (Defence)
Team management: Coach Mary Wari (Sisters), trainer Exodus Jay, manager Robina Mangawa.
The Prime Minister’s 13 challenge between PNG and the Australian Prime Minister’s 13 is scheduled for September 13 at a venue yet to be decided by the interim PNG Rugby Football League board headed by Sudhir Guru..
Siki said this is the best squad they have put together representing all affiliated women rugby league club.