Writs returned

National, Normal

The National, Thursday, June 9th 2011

WRITS for the recently-concluded North Bougainville Open by-election were returned to Governor-General Sir Michael Ogio at Government House on Tuesday.
Former PNG rugby league star and Buka businessman Louta Atoi, from the Tasman Island, won the race to parliament with 10,463 votes.
Lone female candidate Rachael Opeti Konaka chased Atoi late into the elimination process and finished second on 5,162 votes in a field of 21.
People’s Democratic Movement candidate Damien Kora finished third with 5,146 votes.
PNG Electoral Commissioner Andrew Trawen had, however, reported two disputes claiming bribery in Atoi’s win.
Atoi will be in parliament for eight months before next year’s general election.
Meanwhile, Trawen said writs for the Kundiawa-Gembogl by-election would be issued at 4pm today and close at 4pm on June 16.
Polling will start on July 30 and end on Aug 6.
Writs will be returned on Aug 26.
The seat became vacant following the death of Joe Mek Teine.