Zone trials for Southern

Normal, Sports

The National, Tuesday June 25th, 2013

 THE Southern Zone rugby league trials will be from July 29-31 at Kwikila station, Rigo, Central.

Papua New Guinea Rugby Football League Southern Zone director Gwaibo Mairi said the trails would be used to select the Southern Zone team to play in the national zone championship.

The trials will adopt a tournament format with cash prizes of K10,500 on offer. 

Mairi asked all players to be registered with a PNGRFL registration fee of K30.

All PNGRFL affiliates are aware of the trails, with Port Moresby, NCD Suburban, host Rigo, Popondetta, Koiari, Aroma Coast, Porebada, Marshall Lagoon, Poreporena, Pari, Kerema, Alotau, Tabubil, Balimo, Gabagaba, Tubusereia, Barakau and Kairuku taking part.

“This is good for the smaller leagues to develop their players with tough opposition coming from Port Moresby teams,” Mairi said.