Enga schoolboys league to stage finals


THE Sanso Cup Enga Schoolboys Rugby League Under-16 and U18 grand finals are on at the Aipus Oval in Wabag tomorrow.
The U16 challenge will see defending premiers Wabag Primary School take on Yumbilyam High School and in the U18 decider, Kopen Secondary faces Wapenamanda Four Square.
A bumper crowd is expected with special guests, including Grand Chief Sir Peter Ipatas, PNGRFL chairman Sandis Tsaka, PNG Kumuls and Hunters coach Michael Marum and Schoolboys programme coordinators from Mt Hagen, Jiwaka and Goroka attending.
Marum will also be keeping an eye out for potential talents for the Hunters U20 junior programme.
The Kumuls mentor is expected to talk to the teams on education and sport as well as reinforce the message of keeping violence out of the code.
Enga schoolboys rugby league coordinator Jonah Mackay made the announcement in Wabag yesterday while unveiling the 2016 Sanso Cup and the grand finalists.
ESBRL chairman Matthew Mark thanked Ipatas and the Enga provincial government for supporting the programme and acknowledged the support  of the 16 participating schools.
The ESBRL programme is one of the country’s six ‘All Schools’ programme with the others being Mt Hagen, Jiwaka, Goroka, Lae and East New Britain.

Leave a Reply