Pangu bags eighth MP

Main Stories

PANGU Pati leader Sam Basil yesterday welcomed his eighth elected MP as he and other party leaders try to form a coalition government at a camp in Goroka, Eastern Highlands.
Pangu Pati’s elected members in camp include Goilala MP William Samb, Tewai-Siassi MP Kobby Bomareo, Finschhafen MP Renbo Paita, Markham MP Thomas Peliken and Nawaeb MP Kennedy Wenge.
They were joined by Triumph Heritage Empowerment party MP-elect Moriape Vereda Kavori who won the Lufa seat.
Kavori urged the other seven MPs from Eastern Highlands to join the camp.
Basil said Pangu Pati now had eight members following the declaration of Chris Nangoi as the new Sumkar MP yesterday.
He was in Madang yesterday for Nangoi’s declaration.
Two other Pangu Pati members who are among the leaders as counting progressed for other Madang seats are Bryan Kramer (Madang open) and Jerry Singirok (Madang regional).
Basil said the camp was a power-sharing bloc garnering support to form the new government.
“I am inviting all other newly-elected MPs to strengthen the power-sharing bloc in this fight,” he said.
“We must resolve to enact the basis of our political and constitutional freedoms by sharing power as a means of assuring our people that we are genuine in our bid to resuscitate our economy.”
Basil said they wanted “a coalition of game-changers to redirect Papua New Guinea”.
“We have a clear vision for the next 10 days as we negotiate a political outcome that will cushion our people from the dangerous downward spiral of our resource-rich economy.”

Leave a Reply