Payment for 5000 processed

Main Stories

THE Electoral Commission has processed payments for more than 5000 temporary workers for nine provinces and the National Capital District.
Commissioner Gamato told a press conference on Friday that the returning officers and assistant returning officers in some districts were quick to verify names of temporary election workers who worked during the polling period.
He said they were able to meet the requirements of entering the details including bank account details into the temporary election workers (TEW) system which was a recruitment database.
Gamato said TEWs was an initiative the commission has introduced for the 2017 National Election to improve efficiency in the recruitment and management of temporary election workers.
“Some delays have been caused by polling workers not providing bank account numbers or dormant bank accounts.
These workers have been urged to quickly correct bank account details so the payments can be made without delay.
Commission staff in the provincial offices and the headquarters are working to finalise payments for temporary election workers as soon as the correct details have been provided and checked.
According the commission, the provinces and districts that had their allowances processed include East New Britain (Gazelle, Kokopo, Pomio, Rabaul), Manus, New Ireland (Kavieng and Namatanai) Central (Abau Rigo and Kairuku-Hiri), National Capital District (Moresby North-West, Moresby North-East and Moresby South), Northern (Ijivitiari and Sohe), Western ( Middle Fly, North Fly and South Fly)and Chimbu (Gumine).
Polling officials in NCD were the first among others in the provinces who had stopped the commencement of polling due to non-payment of allowances.
The commission has now settled their allowances and counting is progressing well.

Leave a Reply