12 vie for netball crown

Normal, Sports

TWELVE netball associations have confirmed their participation at the 2010 PNG Netball Federation championships in Madang next weekend.
PNG Netball Federation secretary-general Julianne Leka-Maliaki said yesterday that defending champions Kiunga, Central, Port Moresby, Lagatoi, Poreporena, Kairuku-Hiri, Itisora (Gulf), West New Britain, Manus, Lae, Alotau and hosts Madang would be participating at the tournament.
Four associations – Tabubil, Goroka, Mt Hagen and Oro – will not be competing at the tournament.
The event will start with the junior competition which starts next Tuesday to Thursday followed by the senior competition on Oct 2-3.
Leka-Maliaki said participants will be taking part in the U13, U15, U17, U21, B, A and masters divisions.
A number of associations will be sending teams in all divisions while others have opted to send teams in the U21 and the senior divisions.
The premiers for the respective divisions are U13 (Manus), U15 (Alotau), U17 (Alotau), U21 (Poreporena), B (Poreporena), A (Kiunga) and Masters (Manus).
The reigning champions, Manus and Alotau, in the junior divisions, will be facing much strong sides from Central, Port Moresby and Poreporena Netball Associations.
Kiunga will be looking forward to retain the title however they will have to lift their performance because their major threats will be Port Moresby, Central, Lae and Poreporena, who are looking to snatch the title out of their grips.
She said all the games would be played at the Laiwaden Oval.
The federation will also be holding a its annual general meeting at the Coastwatchers Hotel during the championships.
The meeting will see the election of new office bearers and the nomination for the PNGNF executive positions are now open to member associations.