Balanced mix of talent, experience in Cabinet

Main Stories

PRIME Minister Peter O’Neill has named in his 33-member Cabinet a mixture of experienced hands and young talent, with “a good regional balance”.
Aside from his responsibility as head of Government, O’Neill also takes on the sports and APEC portfolios.
The 33 were sworn in at Government House yesterday.
The seven he appointed last Thursday in a caretaker Cabinet retained their major portfolios.
“This Cabinet has a wealth of experience and young talent who are coming in to serve our country over the next few years,” O’Neill said.
“I know they will give their best to serve our nation, people and that starts today.”
He said that today “we will have our first Cabinet to start the work that is ahead of us and within the aspirations of our people and our country”.
“We thank the people for the support they have given us in this past election and we look forward to the challenges ahead in the coming years,” O’Neill said.
O’Neill said there were specific issues that the Government wanted to address as per the Alotau Accord II he and his coalition partners drew up during their retreat.
“This is the work programme that we have laid out for our nation and our ministers,” he said.
“Over the coming days, each minister will be given a detailed briefing from their ministries and their departments, and how they will deliver the commitments that we have made to the nation.
“We have tried to have a good regional balance, with the experience and talent of each respective minister.
“We will certainly be making sure that they are put to good use in the interest of the nation.”
The ruling People’s National Congress has been given 17 ministries, United Resources Party four, People’s Progress Party three, and one each to the Our Development Party, United Party, Christian Democratic Party and Social  Democratic Party.
PNC: O’Neill, Charles Abel, James Marape, Richard Maru, Elias Kapavore, Wera Mori, John Pundari, Benny Allan, Wesley Nukundj, Justin Tkatchenko, Sir Puka Temu, Nick Kuman, Roy Biyama, Alfred Manaseh, Davis Steven, Solan Mirisim and Douglas Tomuriesa.
URP: William Duma, Fabian Pok, Mehrra Kipefa and Jelta Wong.
Independents: Pila Niningi, John Kaupa, Michael Nali and Petrus Thomas.
PPP: Kevin Isifu, Emil Tammur, Johnson Tuke.
Our Development Party: Francis Maneke
PNG National Party: Soroi Eoe.
United Party: Rimbink Pato
Christian Democratic Party: Patrick Basa
Social Democratic Party: Fr Simon Dumarinu.

Leave a Reply