Champions start nines cup defence with win

Normal, Sports

The National, Tuesday November 12th, 2013


LAKWAHARU Rugby League 9s cup holders, Porebada Broncos, yesterday beat Gabagaba (1) 10-4 in their Pool F fixture at Tubusereia oval.

The scores were locked 4-4 with a minute on the clock when Davis Mea, who players for Port Moresby Rugby League’s Maiari Eagles, scooped up a loose ball and scampered 40-metres to score under the uprights.

Davis was later named the man of the match.

Gabagaba put up a courageous effort and played bravely throughout the entire match but were unfortunate to go down to the two-time Lakwaharu champions.

In the same pool Marshall Bugs, formerly Lako, defeated Kisere Boas 18-10 to remain unbeaten with the Broncos.

In Pool C, Keakolo Malagana beat Sebore 4-0, while in Pool D, Amoa were too good for Turubu Warriors 22-14 and Boera Sailors kept  Hanuabada Bese scoreless 10-0. 

In Pool E, Tubsy (2) fought out a 14-14 draw with Marokele with Tatana (1) defeating Taurama Bay Brougiis 10-0. 

Tubsy (1) edged out Koki Eels (2) 8-6 in their Pool A match.

Central Governor Kila Haoda, who was accompanied by provincial administrator Gei Raga, kicked off the five-day tournament.

Governor Haoda (pictured) promised to support sports that involved the youth and pledged K20,000 for this year’s tournament.

Lakwaharu 9s chairman Micky Kone thanked Haoda and Central provincial government for their support.

Tournament director Moses Matuka said 11 pools of four are competing in the tournament with only 16 to qualify for the playoffs.

Pool A – Tubsy 1, Koki Eels 2, Porebada Tigers, Gabi Isapea Warriors; Pool B – Tubsy 2, Bese Dogs, Kerema, Buria Reds 1, Mahuru Eagles; Pool C – Sebore, Keakalo Malagana, Roku 1, Pari Dunamis; Pool D – Taruba Warriors, Amua, Boera Sailors, HB Bese; Pool E – Tubsy 2, Marokele, Taurama Bay Brougiis, Tatana 1; Pool F – Kisere Waves, Lako, Porebada Broncos, Gabagaba 1; Pool G – Aioro Sharks, Bogi Dogs, Koita Cowboys, HB Brothers; Pool H – Tubsy Development, Gaire Development, Gwaeume Mase, Tatana 2; Pool I – Tubsy Daera Brothers, HB Tolly Ice, Sandy Saints, Vaibs Mosquitoes; Pool J – Buria 2, WRS Abau Viuna, Roku 2, Taurama Bay Brougiis 1; Pool K – Koki Eels 1, K Lagavas, Boera 2, Gabagaba 2.